blog
back home

2.6.24

Been a minute, hasn't it? Sorry to anyone that follows my page, I haven't been keeping up at all. (┳Д┳) I'm not really sure if I still have the steam to actively work on the site, but I'll show up every now and then! This IS a blog, so I guess I should write a little about what I've been up to...
The main thing I've been putitng all my effort into is school, of course. I started my second semester pretty recently and it has been going smoothly! I have more electronics-related classes, so I'll actually learn about the career that I want to pursue. I had a course last semester that was all about PLCs, which I apparently did not need to know even though I had to take it for my degree. ┐(´д`)┌ I've also managed to find myself drawing a lot! I enjoy art a lot more than I thought that I would, and these past couple of months I've been practicing it on and off. I don't know how to describe it, but I think I've been a good artist since I was a kid, I just never embraced the skill. Anyone can follow a tutorial and draw something, but I feel like most people don't get it good on their first try. Not to brag, but my first arts from way back when are pretty good compared to what I've drawn recently. (NO I will not post pictures the opps might find me) My CD collection has not grown much recently, the only new music CD I have is The Colour and the Shape by Foo Fighters, my new favorite band. To be fair, I didn't really have a favorite band before I looked into it, just genres I liked. Now that I've listened to like, almost all of Foo Fighters' albums, I can confidently say they are my favorite. Why? I just find that they scratch a certain itch in my brain that not many other rock bands can. I've listened to some Nirvana too, and it just doesn't hit the same.
I dunno what else to write, it is 12 AM as I write this (good morning) and I am tired. I'm gonna update the CD page and call it night. See you!

11.27.23

Boy, this past week has been rough. It's been work, work and more work! I had been stressing over a paper I had to write for my class, which was about a topic that was hard to research. I got some help and got it done, but it sucked. Then, I had to go on a family trip for Thanksgiving, which was fun, but I really wanted to go home, lol. Other than that, I've generally been unmotivated to work on the site. Between college and other life activities, I just feel like I'm out of time. I feel the same way with my art, I want to draw and get better but I just don't have the time for it. The semester ends soon, so that should give me some free time. I've been slowly adding to my CD collection, but I haven't updated the CD page at all. I will soon! I forgot what else happened last week, so I'm gonna leave it here. :3

10.30.23

IT'S ALMOST HALLOWEEN!!!! I'm always so excited for Halloween, it's by far my favorite holiday! Nothing matches the atmosphere of Fall and the spookiness of the month. I should really watch more horror movies, all I've been watching is Star Wars, which I'm really into now! Prior to like, last week, my only knowledge of Star Wars really only came from the LEGO games, which I absolutely love, and I've finally watched the original trilogy and the prequels! I have to say, I love them! Episode 3 is definitely my favorite (everyone says that), I love the clones and the clone wars, the galactic politics, and the cool settings like Coruscant! In fact, my next theme is going to be based off of Coruscant! Well, it'll have an image of Coruscant as the background, but so far I'm liking the concept I have for it. The only problem is the coding, it's really difficult to get everything working the way I want it to. Basically, I have to go into all the pages' html and turn everything into divs with IDs and control the placement of everything entirely with CSS. It's really time-consuming, but I'll make it work! As far the look of the theme, it's going to be a mid-2000's style based off of 2Advanced Studios' website from 2006. Right click -> "open image in new tab" for a better look.

I love the futuristic look of the site, the color scheme, the layout, and the background images. It all comes together to make this really charming site that I want to replicate with my themes. I wanted to match the layout too, that's why I'm re-doing the HTML/CSS of my site. In other news, I've been growing my CD collection. Hitting up thrift stores and looking for cool ones online, I've been searching. I use Windows Media Player 12 to play my CDs, and I found out that it has some really cool skins! My favorite one is this Half-Life 2 skin from 2003. It has cool sounds and animations!

The coolest part is that it has beta images from HL2!

I know there's a lot of space that's being taken up, so another thing I want to work on is turning the blog posts into dropdowns. For example, the page is just a list of dates, but when you click on one it shows the blog post from that day, and at the bottom of each post is a button that hides the post again! Genius, right? Anyway, I'm procrastinating, I have a lot of school work to do and I'm avoiding it by writing this blog ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

10.19.23

Ooh, boy! A blog! I get to write stuff, my favorite! I wanted to add this blog for a while but I never got around to it. But hey, it's here now! I spent all day today working on the webpage, I posted the update that I felt burnt out but then literally the next day I really wanted to work on the site again. I really want to be a part of the Neocities community! There are so many talented and creative people on here that it feels impossible for me to NOT be involved!! I just wish I had known about it earlier! I really love expressing my creativity and I never even considered web design to be a way to do it. I have so many other things that I want to do, but I set expectations for myself waaaay to high. I want to do electronic engineering as my career, and I've barely touched the 3 electronics kits I bought, lol. I'm hoping that the "eletronics" section of the projects page will give me the motivation to actively work it. College is just such a larger concern that I would rather be doing my school work and chilling than racking my brain trying to find out how Linux works. I bought a raspberry pi kit a while back because I thought it would be easy to learn, but damn is it a learning curve. In other news I got my first CD today! It's an exclusive, unreleased future funk album by Groovy Kaiju, and it's even signed! I saw it on an Instagram ad, and I decided I'd indulge. It also came with two radical holographic stickers!

I thought I would have to buy a CD player to jam to it, but it turns out the Dreamcast can play music CDs! The album art reminds me of King Geedorah's album "Take Me To Your Leader," and I looked into it and the art is heavily inspired by that album! The album itself is very good, I like future funk more than I realized! My favorite track is defintely track 2, it has a jazzy sort of element that's integrated with the song and I love it! Groovy Kaiju is an awesome creator, you should check him out! I really want to put these stickers on something, but I'm worried that whatever I put them on I'll end up having to throw away, so for now I'm just gonna keep them. Did I mention I own a Dreamcast? And a Gamecube? I really love old consoles and games! The only game I own for my Dreamcast is Sonic Adventure. I LOVED Sonic Adventure 2 when I was a kid (and still do!), back when I played it on my Xbox 360, and I've always wanted to play the first game! Is it all that? Yes and no. It's one of those things where it's so bad that it's good but then it's bad again but then it's good again. I'm not very far into the game, but I love the atmosphere and the silly terribly-lip-synced cutscenes, but the gameplay can get really annoying at times! There's a lot of puzzles where it doesn't really give you any hints and platforming that's difficult because of the perspective. The camera also sucks, but that comes with any old 3D platformer. Wait, when did this turn into a Sonic Adventure review?